Sun, 09 May 2021

The Warriors squad for the upcoming 4-Day Franchise Series has been named with Yaseen Vallie set to captain a side that includes the likes of Rudi Second, Anrich Nortje, Jon Jon Smuts and Glenton Stuurman.

Vallie takes over from Smuts whose Proteas involvement was part of the reason behind a captaincy change said Warriors coach, Robbie Peterson.

"The appointment of Yaseen as captain brings stability to the squad," says coach Robbie Peterson.

"While Jon-Jon Smuts has done a great job as captain over the past few years, he is now involved with cricket at a national level and is not always available to head up the team.

"Yaseen has proven his leadership skills during his time with the squad, and we believe he is now ready to captain a winning team," says Peterson.

Vallie, a right-handed middle order batsman and occasional off-spinner believes he is ready for the challenge.

"I feel it is the right time and I am ready to take on the new challenge," adds Vallie.

"We have been training hard as a team. I feel we have done all the hard yards, and are ready for the season," he says.

Vallie started playing indoor cricket when he was eight years old, and moved on to the hard ball game a year later.

In 2008 Vallie went to the Under-19 World Cup with the South Africa Under-19s team.

On his franchise debut, he scored 150.

Vallie made his First-Class debut in 2009, his List-A debut in 2008 and his T20 debut in 2011.

He joined the Warriors in 2015.

Warriors 4-Day Franchise Series Team:

Yaseen Vallie (captain), Matthew Breetzke, Gihahn Cloete, Jade De Klerk, Ayabulela Gqamane, Marco Jansen, Wihan Lubbe, Marco Marais, Edward Moore, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Lesiba Ngoepe, Anrich Nortje, Tsepo Ntuli, Sinethemba Qeshile, Rudi Second, Jon-Jon Smuts, Glenton Stuurman, Stefan Tait, Basheer Walters.

Source: News24

Sign up for Baltimore News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!